The thank you morning tea was a huge success with staff providing beautiful food to show their appreciation for all the wonderful work our parents do around the school. A big heartfelt thank you to you all.


The Year Six students attended their secondary school orientation programs this week. The majority of students will be heading to McKinnon Secondary College. Students are also enrolled into Bentleigh Secondary College, Frankston High School, Glen Eira College, Albert Park College, Maribyrnong College and a small range of catholic and independent schools. We wish them all the best as they enjoy their last few days at McKinnon Primary School.

Our Year Six students began their Year Six graduation celebrations on Wednesday with a lovely lunch at the McKinnon Bowls Club. The parents did a lovely job decorating the room and the students appreciated the luncheon.

The celebrations then continued with a more formal ceremony at the Kingston Town Hall in Moorabbin. We were joined by our School Council President Natasha Hosein as well as a large group of family and friends. The ceremony provided an important opportunity for all students to celebrate their many successes at primary school and to say farewell to their classmates as they head towards secondary school.

On behalf of the organising committee, we thank the many volunteers who have contributed to the organisation of the event. A special thank you to Lucy Curl, Angela Henry, Catherine Hales, Andrew Kearl and Bianca Tomaino in ensuring the students were well prepared for the ceremony and the continual encouragement and support demonstrated towards students throughout the year.


We will have our final assembly for 2019 in the gymnasium on Wednesday 18th December commencing at 2.40pm. It will be an important opportunity to farewell our Year Six students, other students leaving McKinnon Primary School, along with a goodbye for staff.

A reminder that all students will be dismissed on Friday 20th December at 1.30pm.

Mr Nick Staikos will be attending to present the Lorraine Francis Award for leadership and the band and choir will be performing.

Team Kids will offer care from 1.30pm on the final day of the term should supervision be necessary with the early dismissal of students.


Students in Year One – Year Six will begin classes on Thursday 30th January at 9.00am. Foundation students will begin classes for half a day on Thursday 30th and Friday 31st January and attend full days beginning Monday 3rd February at 9am. If you would like to know any dates for the 2020 school year, please remember to check the Compass Calendar.


This year has been a terrific year and we would like to thank all our staff for the wonderful commitment they have shown to all our students.

At the end of this year we will farewell Hillary Kerner who has accepted a position at Laburnum Primary School, Renee Waller who has accepted a position at Sholem Aleichen College, Jacqueline Drake who has accepted a position at Brandan Park Primary School, Lauren Woodgate who is moving to New Zealand, Marseal Shaana who has accepted a position at Burwood East Primary School and Robyn Meier who will be returning to her base school, Hughesdale Primary School. On behalf of the school community, we would like to thank these staff members for their dedication and energy in providing the very best for our students. We wish them all well for the future.

Additionally, Adam Sloan will be on leave next year and we would like to wish him all the best for 2020.

Next year we welcome new members of staff to our school. Claudia Bellwood, Brooke Roberts, Emily Bolin, Peta MacGregor, Shea Glass, and Garin Sandler, along with returning staff member Sheridan Duffy. Please find attached to this post a list of 2020 staffing for your reference.


Over the last few weeks our Year Five students have engaged in writing leadership applications, conducting speeches and participating in interviews for their chosen areas. The students have demonstrated extraordinary skills during this time and many have managed their reactions very maturely if they have been unsuccessful.

It is with pleasure that we announce our student leaders for 2020 below.

School Captains Rosie O’Brien Vibhan Jivanjee
School Vice Captains Nethra Mugilvannan Alexander Katsabis
Walnut House Captains Koharu Mishkawa Ruben Chapman
Walnut House Vice Captains Helena Argyropoulos Cameron Paech
Collins House Captains Angelina Avdyugin Max Paterson
Collins House Vice Captains Espy Trask Jonathan Ong
Tucker House Captains Olivia Pearson Dillon Theron
Tucker House Vice Captains Dorothea Papadimitriou Tristan Nicholson
Moylan House Captains Freya Kitney Zion Simons
Moylan House Vice Captains Samira Asthana Peter Tran



Please mark in your diary the dates for information night next year as they will come up very quickly.

Welcome BBQFriday 7th February

Information Nights 2020

Date Year Level Time
Monday 10th February Year 6 5:45-6:30 pm
Year 4 and Year 5 6:45-7:30 pm
Tuesday 11th February Year 1 and Year 2 5:45-6:30 pm
Foundation and Year 3 6:45-7:30 pm
Wednesday 12th February Specialist Information Night 6:00-6:45pm


3 Way Conferences – 18th February



If you are at the school over the holiday break, if you notice anything concerning, would you please contact Caulfield Police Station on 9524 9500 or 000.


Wishing everyone a safe, restful and enjoyable summer break. Look forward to seeing you all back in 2020.

Simone, Ben and Suzanne